Connect with us

USA Hockey Announces 16 Players For 2015 IIHF Championship

USA Hockey Announces 16 Players For 2015 IIHF Championship
Image from Flickr by s.yume


USA Hockey Announces 16 Players For 2015 IIHF Championship

IIHF World Championships

Image from Flickr by s.yume

On Tuesday, USA Hockey has announced the list of 16 players who will represent the USA’s Men’s National Team in the 2015 International Ice Hockey Federation Men’s World Championship to be held from May 1 to 17 in Ostrava and Prague, Czech Republic.

The line-up constitutes one goaltender, six defensemen and eight forwards.

Defenseman Justin Faulk, of the Carolina Hurricanes, who was also part of the 2014 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey team, has secured his place in the list. Faulk’s stellar performances in previous IIHF championships have led the national side to three medals – bronze medals in 2011 juniors and 2013’s men’s worlds, and a gold medal in 2010 under 18 men’s worlds.

The likes of Jake Gardiner and Jeremy Morin, 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship gold medalists, and Connor Murphy and Mike Reilly, 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship gold medalists, have also been shortlisted.

Eleven players in the roster have played for the U.S. Men’s National Team, collectively earning 13 medals in IIHF World Championships, according to USA Hockey.

Also included in the list is forward Jimmy Vesey, who played a crucial role in the 2013 U.S. National Junior team. The side eventually finished first and won the gold medal at the IIHF World Junior Championship in Ufa, Russia.

Todd Richards, Head Coach of the Columbus Blue Jackets, has been elected as head coach for the national side. The 2015 IIHF World Championship will be the third time Richards will be on coaching staff of the national team. He was previously the assistant coach of Team USA at the 2014 Olympic Winter games held in Sochi, Russia, as well as at the 2010 IIHS World Championships in Germany.

According to the official website of NHL, the schedule for the United States includes seven preliminary round games at CEZ Arena in Ostrava. Their opener against Finland is slated for May 1, while they will also play Norway, Russia, Belarus, Denmark, Slovenia and Slovakia.

The gold-medal game will be played on May 17 at O2 Arena, Prague.

Head over to USA Hockey for the complete list of players in the 2015 U.S. Men’s National Team.


You might also be interested in: USA vs. Mexico Friendly: Rivals To Meet At The Football Field


About Shaurya Arya

Shaurya covers wide range of genres. He is in the know about the day-to-day happenings in the US. He covers politics, environment, lifestyle and sports. Follow him to know the latest development in the US Presidential Election, rescue operations during tornadoes and other calamities or simply whether those viral videos and memes are true or hoax. With a Masters in Journalism, he has a bright future ahead in the field of writing and reporting.

More in Sports

Good News

To Top