Twitter is giving its users a new way to clean up their timeline without having to un-follow someone. The social network is starting to roll out the Mute feature to its iPhone and Android apps as well as on Twitter.com according to an announcement made by the company.
“Today we’re beginning to introduce a new account feature called mute to people who use our iPhone and Android apps and twitter.com. Mute gives you even more control over the content you see on Twitter by letting you remove a user’s content from key parts of your Twitter experience.”
Users who decide to mute one of the people they follow will no longer see Tweets and Retweets from the muted person. They will also stop receiving push or SMS notifications on activity from that user but activity will still be listed in the Notifications tab. Unlike blocking though, the muted person will still be able to favorite, reply to, and retweet the user’s Tweets as well as send direct messages but the user will not see any of that activity on their timeline. Lastly, the muted user won’t know or be notified that they’ve been muted. Users will be able to mute and unmute other users at any time.
Those who have the Mute function activated for their account will be able to start muting other users by simply tapping More from a tweet of another user and then choosing the “mute @username” option. Users will also be able to mute other users from their profile pages by tapping the gear icon on the page and choosing the “@mute @username” option. A red mute icon on the muted user’s profile page will appear to confirm that a user has muted them. Clicking the same red mute icon will unmute that user.
The new feature has not been rolled out to everyone but Twitter says that it should be activated for all users in the coming week.