Connect with us

NASA New Zodiac Chart: Discover Your New Star Sign

NASA New Zodiac Chart: Discover Your New Star Sign
Astrological Clock, Torre dell’Orologio, Venice Spencer Wright / Flickr CC BY 2.0


NASA New Zodiac Chart: Discover Your New Star Sign

Forget about your old Zodiac sign as the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) has officially announced the new Zodiac Chart, the first time in 3,000 years.

Astrology since then has played an important role in most people’s lives, from making day-to-day decisions to even consulting these astrological symbols before making major life decisions.

Rumors of New Zodiac Sign

The internet world just basically went nuts when a post from Cosmopolitan came out insinuating that there would be a new set of zodiac signs, after thousands of years, referring to a NASA article directed to children readers. This has generated mixed reactions from the netizens with some even expressed their displeasure with the planned move.

Also Read: NASA To Clone Humans In Outer Space?

Zodiac sign is determined on which constellation does an imaginary line point to from the Earth through Sun on the person’s birthday. Traditionally, modern societies today have adopted the 12-zodiac system invented by the early Babylonians, an advanced civilization that had lived some 3,000 years ago.

But things are about to change, well at least for those who are keen on relying to the cosmos in decision-making, as the zodiac sign has been officially updated. Although NASA has made a clear distinction between Astronomy from Astrology, with the latter being a pseudoscience or simply not science, it did explain the origin and reason why the changes were made.

Adding ‘Ophiuchus’

According to NASA, since the Babylonians first invented the 12 zodiac signs some 3,000, civilizations that adopted their system have remained faithful to the 12 signs of the zodiac, including the Ophiuchus.

Also Read: Real Loch Ness Monster Found – Facts About Storr Lochs Monster

But even the Babylonians themselves, as per their ancient stories, there were 13 constellations in the zodiac. But in order to ‘fit neatly’ the zodiac signs, the early Babylonians had picked only 12.

So the Babylonians had to leave out the Ophiuchus so there would be one sign evenly for each month, but even this didn’t work. In fact, NASA has found out that Ophiuchus also aligns with Sun at least for 18 years in a year.

The new set of zodiac sign would look like this:

  • Capricorn: Jan 20 – Feb 16
  • Aquarius: Feb 16 – March 11
  • Pisces: March 11 – April 18
  • Aries: April 18 – May 13
  • Taurus: May 13 – June 21
  • Gemini: June 21 – July 20
  • Cancer: July 20 – Aug 10
  • Leo: Aug 10 – Sept 16
  • Virgo: Sept 16 – Oct 30
  • Libra: Oct 30 – Nov 23
  • Scorpio: Nov 23 – Nov 29
  • Ophiuchus: Nov 29 – Dec 17
  • Sagittarius: Dec 17 – Jan 20

Also Read: NASA’s Scott Kelly Returns Home After 340 Days In Space

Want to get updated with the latest science stories? Subscribe to our newsletter or follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

About Jereco Paloma

Jereco is a registered psychometrician by profession and a practicing psychotrauma therapist who writes for a living. He has been writing for different news organizations in the past six years. Follow him for the freshest news on Health and Science, the US Elections, and World Politics.

More in Science

Good News

To Top