Connect with us

Ken Griffey Jr, Mike Piazza Voted Into National Baseball Hall Of Fame

Ken Griffey Jr, Mike Piazza Voted Into National Baseball Hall Of Fame
© Camcam1144 | – Our Pastime Photo


Ken Griffey Jr, Mike Piazza Voted Into National Baseball Hall Of Fame

Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Piazza were voted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame, receiving 99.3 and 83 percentages of the votes, respectively.

The Baseball Writers Association of America voted Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Piazza into the National Baseball Hall of Fame Wednesday. With this achievement, Griffey and Piazza become the sole members of Cooperstown’s Class of 2016.

NewsDay reports that Piazza, in his fourth year in the ballot, received 83 percent of the vote. Griffey received a record-breaking 99.3 percent of the vote, surpassing Tom Seaver who had received 98.84 percent in 1992. While Griffey had 437 of 440 ballots, Piazza received 365 votes.

Piazza played for the New York Mets from 1998 to 2005. He also played for the Los Angeles Dodgers for seven years. In his 16-year career, he was with the Oakland Athletics, San Diego Padres and Miami Marlins. He had a batting average of .308, a key factor that contributed to his 12 All-Star selections. He was also the recipient of the National League Rookie of the Year award in 1993.

“You can’t describe this honor,” Piazza said.

According to Yahoo News, in terms of percent of vote, Griffey and Piazza were followed by Jeff Bagwell (71.6 percent), Tim Raines (69.8) and Trevor Hoffman (67.3).

In his first year of eligibility, Griffey received 99.3 percent of 440 votes. According to Sports Illustrated, he has had a career-batting average of .284, including 2,781 hits, 1836 RBIs and the sixth best MLB record of 630 home runs. While Griffey played majority of the years of his career with the Seattle Mariners, he was with the Cincinnati Reds for nine seasons and with the Chicago White Sox for one season. Drafted as No. 1 pick in 1987 by Mariners, he was honored with the 1997 American League MVP award and has been a 13-time All-Star. He has received the Gold Glove Award 10 times and the Silver Slugger award seven times. He is the No. 1 pick ever to be voted for the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for July 24.

Also read: Man Suspected For Planned Parenthood Fire Arrested

For more sports news, subscribe to our newsletter or follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

About Shaurya Arya

Shaurya covers wide range of genres. He is in the know about the day-to-day happenings in the US. He covers politics, environment, lifestyle and sports. Follow him to know the latest development in the US Presidential Election, rescue operations during tornadoes and other calamities or simply whether those viral videos and memes are true or hoax. With a Masters in Journalism, he has a bright future ahead in the field of writing and reporting.

More in Sports

Good News

To Top