Editor’s note: You are viewing Morning News USA’s Debunked section. This section contains news that we have investigated and uncovered to be fake news, satire news, hoaxes and urban legends.
When you are on social media, such as Facebook, they say, there is a high probability that you will lose your privacy, especially if you are active in posting different stuff about yourself.
Taking off from this notion, a supposed warning has been running around the said social networking site, as users have been sharing it on their timeline.
Accordingly, a Facebook policy change could further make the privacy of its millions of users suffer even more.
These users then posted a status stating that they do not give the Mark Zuckerberg-founded social media platform any permission to “use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future.”
What is the truth behind this viral Facebook warning, which even stated that the deadline is already tomorrow?
This is not the first time that such policy change rumor circulated.
In September 2015, such kind of post filled the Facebook News Feed, as users emphasized that they do not allow Facebook to use any of the information or materials they posted.
While this seemed factual, the report noted that it was actually a hoax, with Facebook affirming it via a blog post.
“There is a rumor circulating that Facebook is making a change related to ownership of users’ information or the content they post to the site,” the company wrote. “This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms.
“They control how that content and information is shared,” it continued. “That is our policy, and it always has been.”