Windows 7 Upgrade: Upgrading to Windows 10? Beware! You May Lose Your Files

Windows 7 Upgrade: Upgrading to Windows 10? Beware! You May Lose Your Files
Windows 10 brar_j / Flickr CC BY 2.0
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
Share on LinkedIn
Pin to Pinterest
Share on StumbleUpon
What's This?

While Microsoft is making sure that you are left with no other option than to settle for the “free Windows 10” upgrade, you should know everything about the latest operating system that has taken the world by storm before giving up on Windows 7 or 8. So if you are still using old Windows operating system and are looking forward for a Windows 8.1 or 7 upgrade, here is how to protect your files from getting deleted.


When the new operating system was launched, people faced issues with the Windows 10 download. Most of the issues were related to files stored in the system. Some said that after the upgrade, they found their files automatically deleted. Others, on the other hand, backed up their files, emptied their systems completely, and started downloading Windows 10. As you opt for a Windows 8 or Windows 7 upgrade, make sure that you take a solid backup of your files. Files could be save in an external hard disk, in another laptop, and via online backup. Losing data you have accumulated over the years is definitely the last thing you would want.

Windows 7 upgrade: Why do you lose files while upgrading to Windows 10?

The incomplete Windows 10 upgrade process: As soon as the Windows 10 screen appears, people think that the upgrade is complete. This is not the case. When your system starts after the download and installation, you may be prompted to complete a few more tasks. Do not cancel any of the screens that appear. Read what is given. Follow the procedure. By skipping the steps, you might actually be skipping data transfer.

You may also find your data lying in the “C:\Windows.old” folder. Many suggest that you should manually move this data to your new folders on Windows 10. But avoid doing this, as data in the folder only means an incomplete upgrade. As soon as the upgrade is completed, the data will be automatically moved to Windows 10. If you try to manually transfer this data, you may lose the already-transferred data. The only way to keep your data safe is through a backup. Choose no other alternative.

Like us on Facebook

To check whether you have installed all updates, go to Start > Settings > Update and Security. If you find any updates in the “Windows Update” section, install them.

Read Also: Free Windows 10 Upgrade: Is It Really Free, Or Is It Costing You More Than You Know?


  • Matts Computer Support

    loosing files? that’s rubbish just make sure files are backed up before hand and if you use this tool and read the instructions then you’ll be ok. But I also would keep memory stick handy aswell or whatever anyone of you use.

  • Matts Computer Support