There’s A Blue Moon With Red Mars This Week!

There’s A Blue Moon With Red Mars This Week!
Photo Credit: callocx via Compfight cc

This weekend will be a treat for all astronomers and stargazers as spring’s third full moon – known as blue moon – will come closer to red Mars.


EarthSky notes that the full moon on Saturday, May 21, is known as blue moon because it is the third of four full moons in a season. A season is defined as the period between an equinox and solstice.

While the moon will not appear blue in color, it will certainly be bright in the night sky. Mars will be in its red color, shining from dusk until dawn, to the right of the blue moon.

The Earth will be passing between Mars and the sun, a phenomenon which astronomers call opposition of Mars – it is called so as the red planet will be opposite to the sun, and will rise at sunset. Similarly, a full moon also rises at sunset; which is why on the night in question, the two will be close to each other. The blue moon will occur between the March 2016 equinox and June 2016 solstice.

Like us on Facebook

In addition to the red planet, Jupiter and Saturn will also appear in the night sky, as noted by National Geographic. Nevertheless, Mars – which will be the closest to the Earth it has been in over a decade – will offer a breathtaking view to space enthusiasts. According to CV, notwithstanding the fact that Jupiter is the brightest visible planet in the sky, Mars will prove to be a tough contender.

As a result of different time zones, the moon will turn full at different hours – 5:14 p.m. EDT, 4:14 p.m. CDT, 3:14 p.m MDT or 2:14 p.m. PDT.

Also read: ‘Making A Murderer’ Season 2: Steven Avery, Brendan Dassey To Overturn Convictions?

If you want more news, subscribe to our newsletter or follow us on Twitter and Facebook.