‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Bags 2016 MTV Movie Award Nominations

‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Bags 2016 MTV Movie Award Nominations
John Boyega & Daisy Ridley Gage Skidmore/Flickr CC by 2.0
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
Share on LinkedIn
Pin to Pinterest
Share on StumbleUpon
What's This?

“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” bags major nominations for the upcoming 2016 MTV Movie Award.


The film, which is part of the Star Wars franchise loved by generations of fans, bagged a total of 11 nominations. These include Movie of the Year where it is pitted against the superhero film “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” Michael B. Jordan’s “Creed,” “Deadpool,” “Jurassic World” and the biographical drama film “Straight Outta Compton.” JJ Abrams’ hit film is also up for Best Female Performance (Daisy Ridley), Best Action Performance (John Boyega), Best Villain (Adam Driver) and Best Virtual Performance (Andy Serkis and Lupita Nyong’o.)

Meanwhile, Ryan Reynolds’ “Deadpool” racked up only eight nominations and that already included Reynolds’ five nominations.

The 2016 MTV Movie Award has partnered with Google in order for fans to have their say for the coveted “Movie of the Year” category. Everyone can vote just by typing keywords “MTV Vote” into the Google search bar. Their voices can also be heard via mobile, tablet and desktop devices at www.MovieAwards.MTV.com until Sunday, March 20 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Like us on Facebook
The Executive Vice-President of Event Production – Casey Patterson, said in a statement: “What has always been so cool about the MTV Movie Awards is that it’s about blockbuster movies that audiences line up to see; comedies, superheroes, science fiction, fantasy, action. This show is about fandom and the stars come out to celebrate that. The nominees and the content are naturally diverse and eclectic because we’re a true reflection of real movie-going audience.”

Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson and Kevin Hart will host the 2016 MTV Movie Awards on April 10 from the Warner Bros. outdoor area in Burbank at 8:00 PM ET/PT.

Click here for the complete list of nominations.