Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Galaxy S6 Android Security and Android 6.0 Marshmallow Status Update

Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Galaxy S6 Android Security and Android 6.0 Marshmallow Status Update
Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Kārlis Dambrāns / Flickr cc

Samsung got into legal trouble previously in the Netherlands because of delayed Android software updates for the last two years. The same legal action may have prompted changes in how Samsung has been rolling out its updates especially since there are now reports about the Galaxy Note 4 seeing an Android security update.


Several reports noted that in what looked like a surprising turn of things, Samsung Galaxy Note 4 can now proceed with the download and installation of May’s Android security updates. What is more interesting is that Samsung also just became part of April’s security patches to the device.

According to Nashville Chatter Class, there were reports from India saying that Samsung Galaxy Note 4 with model number SM-N910G. While the update is stamped with the May 1, 2016 date, the official build date is different: April 22, 2016. The update is available via the build number GDTU1DPD4. Since the Galaxy Note 4 device already got the Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow update previously, people should not expect new features aside from the security patches. Some of the things that users can expect include bug fixes, stability and performance improvements.

This is not the only thing keeping Samsung busy as the Korean tech giant continues to bring the Android 6.0 Marshmallow update and its updated iteration, Android 6.0.1., to a number of its devices including the Samsung Gaalxy S6. According to Gotta Be Mobile, Samsung has already rolled out the Marshmallow firmware to Galaxy S6, Galaxy S6 Edge and Galaxy S6 Edge Plus units in Korea. The rest of the world seems to be following suit. Other countries that have started seeing the rollout include India, the United Kingdom, Austria, Russia, Iraq and the Netherlands. Furthermore, these countries have also seen the updates more recently: Afghanistan, Croatia, Germany, Czech Republic, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Nepal, Italy, Macedonia and Spain among others.

Like us on Facebook

Liked this story? Subscribe to our newsletter or follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more updates on America.