Connect with us

Rare Strawberry Moon: Live Streaming Schedule & Facts You Want To Know

Rare Strawberry Moon: Live Streaming Schedule & Facts You Want To Know
Photo Credit: beaumontpete via Compfight cc

Good News

Rare Strawberry Moon: Live Streaming Schedule & Facts You Want To Know

On Monday, June 20, the world will witness the summer solstice, which marks the longest day of the year.

But stargazers and astronomers have another delightful treat in store: the Strawberry Moon.

Strawberry Moon, which is the full moon in the month of June, occurs at the peak time of the strawberry harvesting season, as reported by Farmer’s Almanac. The full moon is also referred to by other names – like Rose Moon, Long Night Moon, and Hot Moon – in different parts of the world. As the event occurs when a lot of weddings take place, in certain areas it is also called Honey Moon.

It is not very often one gets to witness a strawberry moon coinciding with the summer solstice. The last time this happened was in 1967, at the beginning of the Summer of Love. As reported by Fox 5, the full moon on Monday will remain in the sky all evening. In this month, the moon also shares time with the daytime sky.

On the day of the summer solstice, the sun will reach the highest point in the north, positioning itself directly over the Tropic of Cancer at 23 degrees 27 minutes north latitude. As reported by KTLA, this event will take place at 6:34 p.m. EDT, 5:34 p.m. CDT, 4:34 p.m. MDT, and 3:34 p.m. PDT.

According to Bob Berman, Farmer’s Almanac astronomy columnist, in “landing exactly on the solstice, this full moon doesn’t just rise as the Sun sets but is opposite the Sun in all other ways too.” Berman further explains that, as a result, the sun’s high position is complemented by the moon’s low position.

The surface of the moon “forces its light through thicker air” and appears a golden shade; like a “true Honey Moon.”

The solstice full moon will be streamed live by Farmer’s Almanac and Slooh. Commentary of the event will be provided by Berman and Slooh staff astronomer Paul Cox.

Also read: ‘Making A Murderer’ Creators & George Clooney Team Up For New TV Project

Liked this story? Subscribe to our newsletter or follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more stories.

Have good news to share? Email the editor.

About Shaurya Arya

Shaurya covers wide range of genres. He is in the know about the day-to-day happenings in the US. He covers politics, environment, lifestyle and sports. Follow him to know the latest development in the US Presidential Election, rescue operations during tornadoes and other calamities or simply whether those viral videos and memes are true or hoax. With a Masters in Journalism, he has a bright future ahead in the field of writing and reporting.

More in Good News

Good News

MNU EXCLUSIVES

To Top