Google Explains The Reason For Closure Of Google+ Photos
Google has already announced that it is closing down Google+ photos in favor of Google Photos service.
In a statement, Anil Sabharwal Lead Product Manager for Google Photos, explains the decision on Google Plus.
“1. The great photo and video sharing service that’s part of Google+ is unaffected. You can continue to post photos and videos, and your followers will be able to comment and +1 as before. No change.
2. All of the photos, videos, and albums you have already shared on Google+, including their posts, comments, and +1s are also unaffected. An easy way to find these is to visit the Photos tab of your Profile page.
3. The private photo management component of Google+, which includes backup, editing, creations, private album management (album management for shared content is still available on Google+), and sharing to other apps, is being replaced by Google Photos.”
The head of Google Photos also mentioned in the statement, “We are working very hard to bring all the best features of Google+ Photos to Google Photos, and this focus will allow us to deliver even more features at a much faster pace.”
Google Photos was launched in the month of May for photos and videos. Google does not feel the requirement of Google+ photos as a result.
The statement mentioned, “If you’re still using Google+ Photos, now is a great time to make the switch. You may have seen a prompt in Google+ Photos on Android with a link to download the new Google Photos. Don’t worry, all your photos and videos will still be saved and available after you switch to the new, stand-alone Google Photos app. With the new app you’ll still be able to backup, edit, and share your photos and videos, with unlimited storage, automatic organization, and more.”
The people who are using the photo service from Google Plus are asked to download Google Photos. Google+ photos will stop working on Android soon. The company mentioned that the closure of Google+ photos will not affect the storage of the images. They will remain safely with Google until the user changes to Google Photos.