Experts Warn against ‘FacebookSupport’ Scam

Experts Warn against ‘FacebookSupport’ Scam
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
Share on LinkedIn
Pin to Pinterest
Share on StumbleUpon
What's This?

facebook%20scam Experts Warn against ‘FacebookSupport’ ScamFacebook users should beware. Not surprisingly, there is another threat to them that is being disseminated online. If you are among the billions of users of the popular social media site, be sure not to easily give in to messages you may receive that may pertain to your account.


A security researcher has recently called the attention of other Facebook users when he told a personal story about how he thinks he was victimized by a phishing email. Graham Cluley said he recently received an email from an unverified source that claims to be ‘FacebookSupport.’

Obviously, the email message is deceiving in nature. Mr. Cluley said he was dubious from the start because the sender of the message appears dodgy. He still tried to open the email to find out what it was about.

Deletion of FB account

Like us on Facebook

The email message basically tells him that his Facebook account would be deleted soon if he would not open the link provided in the same mail. When he clicked on that link, his browser took him to various Internet sites. Finally, it landed on a familiar Canadian pharmacy site that offers or sells erectile dysfunction medications Cialis and Viagra.

Mr. Cluley knew that it was a hoax from the start. But he still went on, knowing that his PC was protected. He advises others not to click on the link provided in the same mail especially if they are using their own PCs, which may lack the usually tedious protection and support needed.

The real danger

So what could possibly be the danger of opening such email messages and clicking on the links provided? Mr. Cluley said online scammers could easily lead unsuspecting online victims to pages that are specifically designed for phishing of Facebook passwords.

Worse, Mr. Cluley warned that without users knowing it, opening those messages and links may automatically lead to installation of malware into PCs. Those may in turn lead to exploitation of passwords and other relevant information.

In his case, he added, the email message was sent to an email address that he was sure he did not share to Facebook, especially when he created his social media account.