Chicago Blackhawks Clinch 3rd Stanley Cup Title In Six Years

Chicago Blackhawks Clinch 3rd Stanley Cup Title In Six Years
Worn and Torn | HDR Manik./Flickr CC BY-ND 2.0

The Chicago Blackhawks now are in the same bracket with some of the greatest sides of hockey history after clinching their 3rd Stanley Cup title in six years. The Blackhawks defeated Tampa Bay Lightnings 2-0 in game 6 on Monday at Chicago, to finish off a keenly contested best-of-seven final series.


During Franklin Roosvelt’s second term as U.S. President in 1938, the Blackhawks last won the title at home. They won titles in 2010 and 2013, wrapping up the series in game 6, in Philadelphia and Boston, respectively.

“It’s unbelievable how close the series was, how one little mistake can make the difference,” said Duncan Keith, the first defender to win the Conn Smythe award since 2007.

Keith bagged 21 points and played more than 700 minutes in the playoffs to emerge as the unanimous winner of the trophy. He only gave the Blackhawks 1-0 lead on Monday.

Like us on Facebook

“You have a dynasty,” announced Commissioner Gary Bettman in front of a 22,424 turn-out, while handing captain Jonathan Toews the 35-pound Cup.

“It doesn’t seem real. It feels like a dream,” said skipper Toews with “we want the trophy” slogan ringing in his ears.

Till late in the 3rd period of game 6, neither team managed to lead by more than a single goal in the series, is a proof of the tough contest witnessed through-out the finals. The first five games were decided by one goal only, and both sides registered 136 shots on goal in that stretch shows the stiff challenge posed by expansion club Tampa Bay to the much fancied and established outfit of NHL, the Chicago Blackhawks.