2016 Superhero & ‘Star Wars’ Films To Watch Out For

2016 Superhero & ‘Star Wars’ Films To Watch Out For
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
Share on LinkedIn
Pin to Pinterest
Share on StumbleUpon
What's This?

Everybody is excited about the New Year. But for fanboys and fangirls there are five other reasons to be excited about 2016. Four superhero films adapted from beloved comic books and a Star Wars stand-alone film are showing in theaters next year.


The first offering is “Deadpool” on February 12 2016. The film is based on Marvel Comic’s most unconventional anti-hero, Fox announced. It tells the story of Wade Wilson, a former Special Forces operative. He was subjected to a rogue experiment that gave him accelerated healing powers. He then adopts the alter ego Deadpool, an anti-hero with a twisted sense of humor. Starring in the title role is Ryan Reynolds with Morena Baccarin, Ed Skrein, T.J. Miller, Gina Carano and Brianna Hildebrand. It is directed by Tim Miller and written by Paul Wernick and Rhett Reese.

Next on the list is the much-talked about “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” showing on March 25 2016. The film has been controversial since it was announced that Ben Affleck will be Batman. His casting disappointed fans of the beloved Batman franchise. Warner Bros has defended its decision, saying Affleck is the “definitive Batman.” Hence, Batman fanboys and fangirls are on the “lookout.”

“Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” is also the first movie where fans will see Batman and Superman, the two biggest names in comic books, together and fighting. Superman will be played by Henry Cavill.

Like us on Facebook

The synopsis posted on the official Warner Bros website reads: “Fearing the actions of a god-like super hero left unchecked, Gotham City’s own formidable, forceful vigilante takes on Metropolis’s most revered, modern-day savior, while the world wrestles with what sort of hero it really needs. And with Batman and Superman at war with one another, a new threat quickly arises, putting mankind in greater danger than it’s ever known before.”

The film is directed by Zack Snyder and written by Chris Terrio and David Goyer. Gal Gadot is Diana Prince and Wonder Woman. Amy Adams, Laurence Fishburne and Diane Lane will also be in the film. Jesse Eisenberg is Lex Luthor, while Jeremy Irons is Alfred. Holy Hunter will also be in the film and Jason Momoa will be appearing in a brief role as Aquaman.

A month after “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” is shown, another anticipated superhero film comes on May 6, 2016, “Captain America: Civil War.” The film brings in the biggest Marvel characters led by Iron Man and Captain America. Also, everybody is watching out for Tom Holland as the young Spider-Man.

“Captain America: Civil War” picks up from where “Avengers: Age of Ultron” left off, Marvel said in its announcement. Chris Evans is Captain America/Steve Rogers. Robert Downey Jr. is Tony Stark/Iron Man. Scarlett Johansson is Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow. Sebastian Stan is Bucky Barnes/Winter Soldier. Anthony Mackie is Sam Wilson/Falcon. Paul Bettany is The Vision. Jeremy Renner is Clint Barton/Hawkeye. Don Cheadle is Jim Rhodes/War Machine and Elizabeth Olsen is Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch. Paul Rudd will make his first appearance as Scott Lang/Ant-man. Chadwick Boseman is T’Challa/Black Panther, Emily VanCamp is Sharon Carter/Agent 13, Frank Grillo is Brock Rumlow/Crossbones and William Hurt is General Thaddeus “Thunderbolt” Ross.

Fans of the Star Wars franchise have another film to watch come December 16, 2016. “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” is a stand-alone film from the franchise but nonetheless is connected to the Star Wars Universe. It tells the story of resistance fighters who have united to steal plans to the dreaded Death Star.

“Rogue One takes place before the events of Star Wars: A New Hope and will be a departure from the saga films but have elements that are familiar to the Star Wars universe,” as explained by producer Kathleen Kennedy. “It goes into new territory, exploring the galactic struggle from a ground-war perspective while maintaining that essential Star Wars feel that fans have come to know,” she said. Starring are Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Ben Mendelson, Donnie Yen, Jiang Wen, Forest Whitaker, Mads Mikkelsen, Alan Tudyk and Riz Ahmed.

Last on the list (because there is no official release date yet) is “X-Men Apocalypse.” The official synopsis released by Fox reads: “Since the dawn of civilization, he was worshipped as a god. Apocalypse, the first and most powerful mutant from Marvel’s X-Men universe, amassed the powers of many other mutants, becoming immortal and invincible. Upon awakening after thousands of years, he is disillusioned with the world as he finds it and recruits a team of powerful mutants, including a disheartened Magneto (Michael Fassbender), to cleanse mankind and create a new world order, over which he will reign. As the fate of the Earth hangs in the balance, Raven (Jennifer Lawrence) with the help of Professor X (James McAvoy) must lead a team of young X-Men to stop their greatest nemesis and save mankind from complete destruction.”

“X-men Apocalypse” is directed by Bryan Singer and written by Simon Kinberg based on a story by Michael Dougherty and Dan Harris. Also starring are Oscar Isaac, Nicholas Hoult, Rose Byrne, Olivia Munn, Evan Peters, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan, Alexandra Shipp, Lucas Till, Josh Helman, Lana Condor and Ben Hardy.

Liked this story? Subscribe to our newsletter or follow us on Twitter and Facebook.